MLB Baseball

#18
Carlos Martínez
ERA W-L K
3.74 3-2 35
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-0 / 200
Position: SPBorn: 9/21/1991 Birthplace: Puerto Plata, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Cardinals (2010)


Latest News
Aug. 22 8:33 PM PT9:33 PM MT10:33 PM CT11:33 PM ET23:33 ET3:33 GMT11:33 8:33 PM MST10:33 PM EST9:33 PM CST11:03 PM VEN7:33 UAE (+1)10:33 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his 15th save, allowing no runs on no hits and two walks in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Colorado Rockies 6-5 on Thursday. Martinez struck out two, ending the game with a 3.74 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST2:17 PM CST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his 14th save, allowing two runs on three hits in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 5-4 on Sunday. Martinez struck out two, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his 13th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 0.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Kansas City Royals 2-0 on Tuesday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.41 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his 12th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 3-1 on Saturday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.48 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST9:10 PM CST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Carlos Martinez improved to 3-2, allowing no hits and one walk over 1.1 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-2 on Friday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.56 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 3:15 PM PT4:15 PM MT5:15 PM CT6:15 PM ET18:15 ET22:15 GMT6:15 3:15 PM MST5:15 PM EST4:15 PM CST5:45 PM VEN2:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-Carlos Martinez fell to 2-2, allowing one run on two hits in 0.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-1 on Wednesday. Martinez struck out one, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
July 30 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST9:22 PM CST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his 11th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 2-1 on Tuesday. Martinez struck out three, ending the game with a 3.45 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 26 8:31 PM PT9:31 PM MT10:31 PM CT11:31 PM ET23:31 ET3:31 GMT11:31 8:31 PM MST10:31 PM EST9:31 PM CST11:01 PM VEN7:31 UAE (+1)10:31 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his 10th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Houston Astros 5-3 on Friday. Martinez struck out one, ending the game with a 3.62 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
July 25 12:28 PM PT1:28 PM MT2:28 PM CT3:28 PM ET15:28 ET19:28 GMT3:28 12:28 PM MST2:28 PM EST1:28 PM CST2:58 PM VEN23:28 UAE2:28 PM CT-Carlos Martinez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-3 on Thursday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.76 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
July 22 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his ninth save, allowing one run on three hits in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-5 on Monday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
July 21 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST2:38 PM CST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 3-1 on Sunday. Martinez struck out one, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 19 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST9:10 PM CST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his seventh save, allowing two runs on two hits and two walks in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 12-11 on Friday. Martinez struck out two, ending the game with a 3.80 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
July 17 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his sixth save, allowing one run on three hits in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-5 on Wednesday. Martinez struck out one, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 16 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST9:23 PM CST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Carlos Martinez fell to 2-1, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 3-1 on Tuesday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.91 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
July 14 2:13 PM PT3:13 PM MT4:13 PM CT5:13 PM ET17:13 ET21:13 GMT5:13 2:13 PM MST4:13 PM EST3:13 PM CST4:43 PM VEN1:13 UAE (+1)4:13 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 0.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-2 on Sunday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.18 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
July 13 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-2 on Saturday. Martinez struck out three, ending the game with a 2.21 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
July 4 4:13 PM PT5:13 PM MT6:13 PM CT7:13 PM ET19:13 ET23:13 GMT7:13 4:13 PM MST6:13 PM EST5:13 PM CST6:43 PM VEN3:13 UAE (+1)6:13 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his third save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Seattle Mariners 5-4 on Thursday. Martinez struck out one, ending the game with a 2.37 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
July 4 10:25 PM PT11:25 PM MT12:25 AM CT1:25 AM ET1:25 ET5:25 GMT13:25 10:25 PM MST12:25 AM EST11:25 PM CST12:55 AM VEN9:25 UAE12:25 AM CT-Carlos Martinez did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Seattle Mariners 5-2 on Wednesday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.50 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
June 30 5:22 PM PT6:22 PM MT7:22 PM CT8:22 PM ET20:22 ET0:22 GMT8:22 5:22 PM MST7:22 PM EST6:22 PM CST7:52 PM VEN4:22 UAE (+1)7:22 PM CT-Carlos Martinez improved to 2-0, allowing one hit and one walk over 2.2 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the San Diego Padres 5-3 on Sunday. Martinez struck out four, ending the game with a 2.55 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
June 21 8:45 PM PT9:45 PM MT10:45 PM CT11:45 PM ET23:45 ET3:45 GMT11:45 8:45 PM MST10:45 PM EST9:45 PM CST11:15 PM VEN7:45 UAE (+1)10:45 PM CT-Carlos Martinez allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Los Angeles Angels 5-1 on Friday. Martinez struck out two, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
June 19 8:53 PM PT9:53 PM MT10:53 PM CT11:53 PM ET23:53 ET3:53 GMT11:53 8:53 PM MST10:53 PM EST9:53 PM CST11:23 PM VEN7:53 UAE (+1)10:53 PM CT-Carlos Martinez blew his second save, allowing one run on three hits in 1.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Miami Marlins 2-1 on Wednesday. Martinez struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
June 16 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST2:22 PM CST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his second save, allowing no runs on one hit in 2.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the New York Mets 4-3 on Sunday. Martinez struck out two, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
June 14 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST4:49 PM CST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-Carlos Martinez improved to 1-0, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the New York Mets 5-4 on Thursday. Martinez struck out one, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
June 9 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Carlos Martinez allowed two runs - one earned - on two hits in 1.2 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-1 on Sunday. Martinez struck out three, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
June 2 11:01 PM PT12:01 AM MT1:01 AM CT2:01 AM ET2:01 ET6:01 GMT14:01 11:01 PM MST1:01 AM EST12:01 AM CST1:31 AM VEN10:01 UAE1:01 AM CT-Carlos Martinez recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 7-4 on Saturday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
May 31 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST9:44 PM CST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)10:44 PM CT-Carlos Martinez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 2-1 on Friday. Martinez struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 30 1:11 PM PT2:11 PM MT3:11 PM CT4:11 PM ET16:11 ET20:11 GMT4:11 1:11 PM MST3:11 PM EST2:11 PM CST3:41 PM VEN0:11 UAE (+1)3:11 PM CT-Carlos Martinez allowed two runs on one hit and two walks in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 5-3 on Thursday. Martinez struck out one, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
May 26 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Carlos Martinez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Atlanta Braves 4-3 on Sunday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 25 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST7:58 PM CST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Carlos Martinez blew his first save, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-3 on Saturday. Martinez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 22 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST9:19 PM CST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Carlos Martinez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Kansas City Royals 10-3 on Wednesday. Martinez struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.38 WHIP on the season.
May 19 3:52 PM PT4:52 PM MT5:52 PM CT6:52 PM ET18:52 ET22:52 GMT6:52 3:52 PM MST5:52 PM EST4:52 PM CST6:22 PM VEN2:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-Carlos Martinez walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.2 scoreless innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Texas Rangers 5-4 on Sunday. Martinez struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.60 WHIP on the season.
May 18 6:34 PM PT7:34 PM MT8:34 PM CT9:34 PM ET21:34 ET1:34 GMT9:34 6:34 PM MST8:34 PM EST7:34 PM CST9:04 PM VEN5:34 UAE (+1)8:34 PM CT-Carlos Martinez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Texas Rangers 8-2 on Saturday. Martinez struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
Feb. 28 8:26 AM PT9:26 AM MT10:26 AM CT11:26 AM ET11:26 ET16:26 GMT0:26 9:26 AM MST11:26 AM EST10:26 AM CST11:56 AM VEN20:26 UAE10:26 AM CT-The Cardinals activated Martinez (shoulder) from the injured list prior to Friday's game at Texas.
Analysis: Martinez, sidelined since spring training by a strained rotator cuff, will pitch out the bullpen in an attempt to stay healthy. The former 16-game winner pitched well when moved to a relief role last season, going 2-0 and converting all five save chances while posting a 1.47 ERA over 15 appearances.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 StL 2 1 1 - 1 21 1 0 28.1 31 16 16 1 9 1 24 1.41 5.08
2014 StL 2 4 1 - 6 57 7 0 89.1 90 41 40 4 36 8 84 1.41 4.03
2015 StL 14 7 0 - 0 31 29 0 179.2 168 65 60 13 63 5 184 1.29 3.01
2016 StL 16 9 0 - 0 31 31 0 195.1 169 68 66 15 70 1 174 1.22 3.04
2017 StL 12 11 0 - 0 32 32 2 205.0 179 93 83 27 71 3 217 1.22 3.64
2018 StL 8 6 5 - 5 33 18 0 118.2 100 48 41 5 60 4 117 1.35 3.11
2019 StL 3 2 15 - 18 32 0 0 33.2 31 15 14 2 14 1 35 1.34 3.74
Career 57 40 22 - 30 237 118 2 850.0 768 346 320 67 323 23 835 1.28 3.39

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 StL 21 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 StL 57 12 0 3 0 0 0 2 0 4 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2015 StL 32 56 2 8 2 0 0 0 1 23 0 0 .143 .172 .179
2016 StL 33 59 5 14 1 0 0 6 0 13 0 0 .237 .246 .254
2017 StL 34 62 5 11 3 0 0 11 1 19 0 0 .177 .203 .226
2018 StL 34 33 1 8 2 0 1 4 0 11 0 0 .242 .235 .394
Career 243 224 13 44 8 0 1 23 2 71 0 0 .196 .212 .246

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 StL Total 0 1 0 - 0 12 0 0 12.2 7 5 5 0 3 1 11 3.55
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.0 1 2 2 0 1 0 2 9.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.2 1 0 0 0 1 0 4 0.00
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 5 0 0 6.0 5 3 3 0 1 1 5 4.50
2014 StL Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.0 3 1 1 0 4 0 2 1.93
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.1 0 1 1 0 1 0 1 6.75
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.2 3 0 0 0 3 0 1 0.00
Career 0 1 0 - 0 16 0 0 16.2 10 6 6 0 7 1 13 3.24


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 290 100 92 95.7 53.11
Slider 142 90 82 85.9 26.01
Changeup 90 91 86 88.3 16.48
Cut Fastball 24 95 91 93.8 4.4

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.