MLB Baseball

#85
Luis Cessa
ERA S K
2.82 0 31
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-0 / 208
Position: RPBorn: 4/25/1992 Birthplace: Cordoba, Mexico
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Mets (2008)


Latest News
July 23 9:58 PM PT10:58 PM MT11:58 PM CT12:58 AM ET0:58 ET4:58 GMT12:58 9:58 PM MST11:58 PM EST10:58 PM CST12:28 AM VEN8:58 UAE10:58 PM CT-Luis Cessa did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-4 on Thursday. Cessa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.82 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
July 20 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST8:59 PM CST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Luis Cessa improved to 3-1, allowing no hits and two walks over 1.1 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-4 on Tuesday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
July 8 10:20 PM PT11:20 PM MT12:20 AM CT1:20 AM ET1:20 ET5:20 GMT13:20 10:20 PM MST12:20 AM EST11:20 PM CST12:50 AM VEN9:20 UAE11:20 PM CT-Luis Cessa improved to 2-1, allowing one hit over 3.1 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Seattle Mariners 5-4 on Wednesday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
July 1 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST11:13 PM CST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE11:13 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Los Angeles Angels 11-8 on Wednesday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 3.31 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 27 1:23 PM PT2:23 PM MT3:23 PM CT4:23 PM ET16:23 ET20:23 GMT4:23 1:23 PM MST3:23 PM EST2:23 PM CST3:53 PM VEN0:23 UAE (+1)2:23 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one run on two hits in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 9-2 on Sunday. Cessa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
June 25 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one run on two hits in 0.2 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-3 on Friday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 3.34 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 18 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST8:16 PM CST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)8:16 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Oakland Athletics 5-3 on Friday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 3.10 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
June 15 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST9:05 PM CST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 6-5 on Tuesday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 3.33 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
June 12 5:17 PM PT6:17 PM MT7:17 PM CT8:17 PM ET20:17 ET0:17 GMT8:17 5:17 PM MST7:17 PM EST6:17 PM CST7:47 PM VEN4:17 UAE (+1)6:17 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 8-7 on Saturday. Cessa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
June 10 10:00 PM PT11:00 PM MT12:00 AM CT1:00 AM ET1:00 ET5:00 GMT13:00 10:00 PM MST12:00 AM EST11:00 PM CST12:30 AM VEN9:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Minnesota Twins 9-6 on Wednesday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
June 6 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST9:05 PM CST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Luis Cessa fell to 1-1, allowing two runs - one earned - on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-5 on Sunday. Cessa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
June 3 4:19 PM PT5:19 PM MT6:19 PM CT7:19 PM ET19:19 ET23:19 GMT7:19 4:19 PM MST6:19 PM EST5:19 PM CST6:49 PM VEN3:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 9-2 on Thursday. Cessa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.82 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
June 3 4:19 PM PT5:19 PM MT6:19 PM CT7:19 PM ET19:19 ET23:19 GMT7:19 4:19 PM MST6:19 PM EST5:19 PM CST6:49 PM VEN3:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 9-2 on Thursday. Cessa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.82 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
June 3 4:19 PM PT5:19 PM MT6:19 PM CT7:19 PM ET19:19 ET23:19 GMT7:19 4:19 PM MST6:19 PM EST5:19 PM CST6:49 PM VEN3:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 9-2 on Thursday. Cessa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.82 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
June 1 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST8:57 PM CST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Luis Cessa improved to 1-0, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-3 on Tuesday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 31 12:55 PM PT1:55 PM MT2:55 PM CT3:55 PM ET15:55 ET19:55 GMT3:55 12:55 PM MST2:55 PM EST1:55 PM CST3:25 PM VEN23:55 UAE1:55 PM CT-Luis Cessa did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 3-1 on Monday. Cessa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.15 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
May 25 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)8:21 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-2 on Tuesday. Cessa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
May 22 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)2:18 PM CT-Luis Cessa did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-0 on Saturday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
May 16 1:23 PM PT2:23 PM MT3:23 PM CT4:23 PM ET16:23 ET20:23 GMT4:23 1:23 PM MST3:23 PM EST2:23 PM CST3:53 PM VEN0:23 UAE (+1)2:23 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed two runs on two hits and two walks in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Baltimore Orioles 10-6 on Sunday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
May 15 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)8:15 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one run - zero earned - on two hits in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-2 on Saturday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
May 7 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)8:15 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed three runs - two earned - on three hits and three walks in 1.2 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Washington Nationals 11-4 on Friday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 2.40 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 5 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Luis Cessa walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.2 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Houston Astros 6-3 on Wednesday. Cessa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.35 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)8:20 PM CT-Luis Cessa walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Detroit Tigers 10-0 on Friday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 1.42 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 1:23 PM PT2:23 PM MT3:23 PM CT4:23 PM ET16:23 ET20:23 GMT4:23 1:23 PM MST3:23 PM EST2:23 PM CST3:53 PM VEN0:23 UAE (+1)2:23 PM CT-Luis Cessa did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Cleveland Indians 7-3 on Sunday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 0.77 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 8:40 PM PT9:40 PM MT10:40 PM CT11:40 PM ET23:40 ET3:40 GMT11:40 8:40 PM MST10:40 PM EST9:40 PM CST11:10 PM VEN7:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one run - zero earned - on one hit and one walk in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Atlanta Braves 4-1 on Wednesday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 0.93 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)8:35 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed four runs - one earned - on two hits and two walks in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-2 on Friday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 1.17 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)8:17 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-3 on Tuesday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST2:20 PM CST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)2:20 PM CT-Luis Cessa did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-0 on Saturday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.64 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST4:07 PM CST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 10-5 on Friday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST8:42 PM CST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Luis Cessa walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.2 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Baltimore Orioles 4-3 on Wednesday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 6:41 PM PT7:41 PM MT8:41 PM CT9:41 PM ET21:41 ET1:41 GMT9:41 6:41 PM MST8:41 PM EST7:41 PM CST9:11 PM VEN5:41 UAE (+1)7:41 PM CT-Luis Cessa walked one and didn't allow a hit in 2.0 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-0 on Monday. Cessa struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2016 NYY 4 4 0 - 0 17 9 0 70.1 64 36 34 16 14 0 46 1.11 4.35
2017 NYY 0 3 0 - 0 10 5 0 36.0 36 21 19 7 17 0 30 1.47 4.75
2018 NYY 1 4 2 - 2 16 5 0 44.2 51 27 26 5 13 0 39 1.43 5.24
2019 NYY 2 1 1 - 1 43 0 0 81.0 75 42 37 14 31 1 75 1.31 4.11
2020 NYY 0 0 1 - 1 16 0 0 21.2 20 10 8 2 7 0 17 1.25 3.32
2021 NYY 3 1 0 - 0 29 0 0 38.1 31 17 12 2 17 1 31 1.25 2.82
Career 10 13 4 - 4 131 19 0 292.0 277 153 136 46 99 2 238 1.29 4.19

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 NYY 16 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 NYY 43 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 131 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2019 NYY Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 4.0 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 0.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 4.0 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 0.00
2020 NYY Total 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 4.0 3 2 2 0 3 0 3 4.50
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 2 1 1 0 1 0 1 4.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 1 1 1 0 2 0 2 4.50
Career 0 0 0 - 0 5 0 0 8.0 5 2 2 0 3 0 7 2.25


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 181 96 90 93.3 31.15
Slider 349 86 79 82.7 60.07
Changeup 51 89 84 87.4 8.78

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.