MLB Baseball

#35
Clay Holmes
ERA W-L K
4.81 3-2 45
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-5 / 230
Position: SPBorn: 3/27/1993 Birthplace: Dothan, Alabama
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 9th Round by Pirates (2011)


Latest News
July 29 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST2:16 PM CST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)2:16 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 14-0 on Thursday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 4.81 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
July 25 9:58 PM PT10:58 PM MT11:58 PM CT12:58 AM ET0:58 ET4:58 GMT12:58 9:58 PM MST11:58 PM EST10:58 PM CST12:28 AM VEN8:58 UAE10:58 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the San Francisco Giants 10-2 on Saturday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.93 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
July 24 10:20 PM PT11:20 PM MT12:20 AM CT1:20 AM ET1:20 ET5:20 GMT13:20 10:20 PM MST12:20 AM EST11:20 PM CST12:50 AM VEN9:20 UAE11:20 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the San Francisco Giants 6-4 on Friday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 5.01 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
July 21 9:57 PM PT10:57 PM MT11:57 PM CT12:57 AM ET0:57 ET4:57 GMT12:57 9:57 PM MST11:57 PM EST10:57 PM CST12:27 AM VEN8:57 UAE10:57 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed four runs on four hits and two walks in 0.2 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 11-6 on Tuesday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 5.13 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
July 18 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET21:01 GMT5:01 2:01 PM MST4:01 PM EST3:01 PM CST4:31 PM VEN1:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the New York Mets 7-6 on Sunday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
July 17 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST9:36 PM CST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Clay Holmes improved to 3-2, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the New York Mets 9-7 on Saturday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
July 10 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)8:13 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one run on one hit and two walks in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the New York Mets 4-2 on Saturday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 4.30 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
July 7 3:06 PM PT4:06 PM MT5:06 PM CT6:06 PM ET18:06 ET22:06 GMT6:06 3:06 PM MST5:06 PM EST4:06 PM CST5:36 PM VEN2:06 UAE (+1)4:06 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Atlanta Braves 14-3 on Wednesday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 4.17 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
July 5 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Atlanta Braves 11-1 on Monday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 4.21 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
July 2 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)8:02 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-2 on Friday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 4.33 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
July 1 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST8:53 PM CST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed two runs on one hit and three walks without recording an out as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-2 on Thursday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.46 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
June 28 5:18 PM PT6:18 PM MT7:18 PM CT8:18 PM ET20:18 ET0:18 GMT8:18 5:18 PM MST7:18 PM EST6:18 PM CST7:48 PM VEN4:18 UAE (+1)6:18 PM CT-Clay Holmes walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Colorado Rockies 2-0 on Monday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 3.93 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
June 26 10:34 PM PT11:34 PM MT12:34 AM CT1:34 AM ET1:34 ET5:34 GMT13:34 10:34 PM MST12:34 AM EST11:34 PM CST1:04 AM VEN9:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-Clay Holmes walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.2 scoreless innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-4 on Friday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 4.05 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
June 23 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST2:19 PM CST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)2:19 PM CT-Clay Holmes walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Chicago White Sox 4-3 on Wednesday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
June 20 12:43 PM PT1:43 PM MT2:43 PM CT3:43 PM ET15:43 ET19:43 GMT3:43 12:43 PM MST2:43 PM EST1:43 PM CST3:13 PM VEN23:43 UAE1:43 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Cleveland Indians 2-1 on Sunday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
June 18 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)8:19 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Cleveland Indians 11-10 on Friday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 4.55 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 12 4:50 PM PT5:50 PM MT6:50 PM CT7:50 PM ET19:50 ET23:50 GMT7:50 4:50 PM MST6:50 PM EST5:50 PM CST7:20 PM VEN3:50 UAE (+1)5:50 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one run on two hits in 0.2 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-4 on Saturday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.45 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 11 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST9:47 PM CST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)9:47 PM CT-Clay Holmes fell to 2-1, allowing five runs on two hits and four walks in 0.1 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-4 on Friday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 4.23 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
June 10 10:00 PM PT11:00 PM MT12:00 AM CT1:00 AM ET1:00 ET5:00 GMT13:00 10:00 PM MST12:00 AM EST11:00 PM CST12:30 AM VEN9:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-1 on Wednesday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
June 5 5:32 PM PT6:32 PM MT7:32 PM CT8:32 PM ET20:32 ET0:32 GMT8:32 5:32 PM MST7:32 PM EST6:32 PM CST8:02 PM VEN4:32 UAE (+1)6:32 PM CT-Clay Holmes improved to 2-0, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Miami Marlins 8-7 on Saturday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.73 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
June 3 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)8:14 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Miami Marlins 5-3 on Thursday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
May 30 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST4:41 PM CST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Colorado Rockies 4-3 on Sunday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 2.96 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
May 26 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)8:02 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Chicago Cubs 4-1 on Wednesday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
May 25 6:41 PM PT7:41 PM MT8:41 PM CT9:41 PM ET21:41 ET1:41 GMT9:41 6:41 PM MST8:41 PM EST7:41 PM CST9:11 PM VEN5:41 UAE (+1)7:41 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Chicago Cubs 4-3 on Tuesday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 3.22 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
May 23 12:54 PM PT1:54 PM MT2:54 PM CT3:54 PM ET15:54 ET19:54 GMT3:54 12:54 PM MST2:54 PM EST1:54 PM CST3:24 PM VEN23:54 UAE1:54 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-1 on Sunday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 20 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST9:10 PM CST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)9:10 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-4 on Thursday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 3.48 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
May 16 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST2:24 PM CST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)2:24 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Francisco Giants 4-1 on Sunday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 3.66 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
May 13 6:34 PM PT7:34 PM MT8:34 PM CT9:34 PM ET21:34 ET1:34 GMT9:34 6:34 PM MST8:34 PM EST7:34 PM CST9:04 PM VEN5:34 UAE (+1)7:34 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Francisco Giants 3-1 on Thursday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 4.08 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 12 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST2:35 PM CST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)2:35 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed two hits without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-1 on Wednesday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.32 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
May 8 2:38 PM PT3:38 PM MT4:38 PM CT5:38 PM ET17:38 ET21:38 GMT5:38 2:38 PM MST4:38 PM EST3:38 PM CST5:08 PM VEN1:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Chicago Cubs 3-2 on Saturday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 5 8:48 PM PT9:48 PM MT10:48 PM CT11:48 PM ET23:48 ET3:48 GMT11:48 8:48 PM MST10:48 PM EST9:48 PM CST11:18 PM VEN7:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Diego Padres 4-2 on Wednesday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.60 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
May 4 9:55 PM PT10:55 PM MT11:55 PM CT12:55 AM ET0:55 ET4:55 GMT12:55 9:55 PM MST11:55 PM EST10:55 PM CST12:25 AM VEN8:55 UAE10:55 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Diego Padres 2-0 on Monday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one run - zero earned - on zero hits in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 7-3 on Friday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.02 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST8:37 PM CST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)8:37 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Kansas City Royals 9-6 on Wednesday. Holmes struck out four, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST3:47 PM CST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Clay Holmes improved to 1-0, allowing no hits and one walk over 1.1 scoreless innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Minnesota Twins 6-2 on Sunday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 6.35 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 5:44 PM PT6:44 PM MT7:44 PM CT8:44 PM ET20:44 ET0:44 GMT8:44 5:44 PM MST7:44 PM EST6:44 PM CST8:14 PM VEN4:44 UAE (+1)6:44 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Detroit Tigers 5-2 on Wednesday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.20 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)7:56 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-1 on Saturday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 7.00 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 12:56 PM PT1:56 PM MT2:56 PM CT3:56 PM ET15:56 ET19:56 GMT3:56 12:56 PM MST2:56 PM EST1:56 PM CST3:26 PM VEN23:56 UAE1:56 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.2 scoreless innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Diego Padres 8-3 on Thursday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST8:50 PM CST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Clay Holmes walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the San Diego Padres 8-4 on Tuesday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with an 11.81 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)7:49 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 8-2 on Saturday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 15.75 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 1:56 PM PT2:56 PM MT3:56 PM CT4:56 PM ET16:56 ET20:56 GMT4:56 1:56 PM MST3:56 PM EST2:56 PM CST4:26 PM VEN0:56 UAE (+1)2:56 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Chicago Cubs 4-2 on Thursday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with an 18.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 6:21 PM PT7:21 PM MT8:21 PM CT9:21 PM ET21:21 ET1:21 GMT9:21 6:21 PM MST8:21 PM EST7:21 PM CST8:51 PM VEN5:21 UAE (+1)7:21 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed five runs on three hits and two walks in 0.1 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Cincinnati Reds 14-1 on Tuesday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 23.14 ERA and 2.57 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST3:34 PM CST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)3:34 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-1 on Saturday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 0.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 1 3:28 PM PT4:28 PM MT5:28 PM CT6:28 PM ET18:28 ET22:28 GMT6:28 3:28 PM MST5:28 PM EST4:28 PM CST5:58 PM VEN2:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 5-3 on Thursday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 Pit 1 3 0 - 1 11 4 0 26.1 30 21 20 2 23 1 21 2.01 6.84
2019 Pit 1 2 0 - 1 35 0 0 50.0 45 36 31 5 36 1 56 1.62 5.58
2020 Pit 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.1 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 1.50 0.00
2021 Pit 3 2 0 - 0 44 0 0 42.0 35 24 23 3 25 2 44 1.43 4.93
2021 NYY 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00 0.00
2021 Tot 3 2 0 - 0 45 0 0 43.0 35 24 23 3 25 2 45 1.40 4.81
Career 5 7 0 - 2 92 4 0 120.2 112 81 74 10 84 4 123 1.62 5.52

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 Pit 11 6 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Pit 35 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 Pit 44 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 Tot 45 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 92 12 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 382 99 91 95.7 51.62
Curveball 145 86 80 82.7 19.59
Slider 213 92 84 87.9 28.78

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.