MLB Baseball

#29
Merrill Kelly
ERA W-L K
3.43 13-8 170
Team: ArizonaHt / Wt: 6-2 / 210
Position: SPBorn: 10/14/1988 Birthplace: Houston, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 8th Round by Rays (2010)


Latest News
Oct. 1 10:19 PM PT11:19 PM MT12:19 AM CT1:19 AM ET1:19 ET5:19 GMT13:19 10:19 PM MST12:19 AM EST11:19 PM CST12:49 AM VEN9:19 UAE11:19 PM CT-Merrill Kelly fell to 13-8, allowing eight runs on nine hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Francisco Giants 10-4 on Friday. Kelly struck out two, ending the game with a 3.43 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 24 7:56 PM PT8:56 PM MT9:56 PM CT10:56 PM ET22:56 ET2:56 GMT10:56 7:56 PM MST9:56 PM EST8:56 PM CST10:26 PM VEN6:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Merrill Kelly improved to 13-7, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-2 on Saturday. Kelly struck out six, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 20 10:01 PM PT11:01 PM MT12:01 AM CT1:01 AM ET1:01 ET5:01 GMT13:01 10:01 PM MST12:01 AM EST11:01 PM CST12:31 AM VEN9:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Merrill Kelly fell to 12-7, allowing five runs on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-2 on Monday. Kelly struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.15 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 14 9:38 PM PT10:38 PM MT11:38 PM CT12:38 AM ET0:38 ET4:38 GMT12:38 9:38 PM MST11:38 PM EST10:38 PM CST12:08 AM VEN8:38 UAE10:38 PM CT-Merrill Kelly fell to 12-6, allowing three runs on five hits and five walks in 5.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-0 on Tuesday. Kelly struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.01 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 10:02 PM PT11:02 PM MT12:02 AM CT1:02 AM ET1:02 ET5:02 GMT13:02 10:02 PM MST12:02 AM EST11:02 PM CST12:32 AM VEN9:02 UAE11:02 PM CT-Merrill Kelly allowed four runs on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Diego Padres 6-5 on Tuesday. Kelly struck out five, ending the game with a 2.94 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 9:15 PM PT10:15 PM MT11:15 PM CT12:15 AM ET0:15 ET4:15 GMT12:15 9:15 PM MST11:15 PM EST10:15 PM CST11:45 PM VEN8:15 UAE10:15 PM CT-Merrill Kelly improved to 12-5, allowing four hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 5-0 on Thursday. Kelly struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Merrill Kelly improved to 11-5, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 7.1 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Chicago White Sox 10-5 on Saturday. Kelly struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.97 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 4:54 PM PT5:54 PM MT6:54 PM CT7:54 PM ET19:54 ET23:54 GMT7:54 4:54 PM MST6:54 PM EST5:54 PM CST7:24 PM VEN3:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Merrill Kelly allowed three runs on seven hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-4 on Sunday. Kelly struck out six, ending the game with a 2.87 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 17 9:40 PM PT10:40 PM MT11:40 PM CT12:40 AM ET0:40 ET4:40 GMT12:40 9:40 PM MST11:40 PM EST10:40 PM CST12:10 AM VEN8:40 UAE10:40 PM CT-Merrill Kelly allowed four hits and two walks without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Francisco Giants 2-1 on Tuesday. Kelly struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.81 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 4:06 PM PT5:06 PM MT6:06 PM CT7:06 PM ET19:06 ET23:06 GMT7:06 4:06 PM MST6:06 PM EST5:06 PM CST6:36 PM VEN3:06 UAE (+1)5:06 PM CT-Merrill Kelly allowed three runs on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 9-3 on Thursday. Kelly struck out six, ending the game with a 2.95 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 6 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST8:50 PM CST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Merrill Kelly allowed two runs on seven hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Colorado Rockies 3-2 on Saturday. Kelly struck out five, ending the game with a 2.86 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 31 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST2:35 PM CST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)2:35 PM CT-Merrill Kelly allowed three hits and two walks without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Atlanta Braves 1-0 on Sunday. Kelly struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.87 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 26 9:30 PM PT10:30 PM MT11:30 PM CT12:30 AM ET0:30 ET4:30 GMT12:30 9:30 PM MST11:30 PM EST10:30 PM CST12:00 AM VEN8:30 UAE10:30 PM CT-Merrill Kelly improved to 10-5, allowing three hits over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the San Francisco Giants 7-0 on Monday. Kelly struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.04 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 17 4:35 PM PT5:35 PM MT6:35 PM CT7:35 PM ET19:35 ET23:35 GMT7:35 4:35 PM MST6:35 PM EST5:35 PM CST7:05 PM VEN3:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-Merrill Kelly improved to 9-5, allowing one run on six hits in 6.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the San Diego Padres 3-1 on Sunday. Kelly struck out five, ending the game with a 3.26 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 12 10:45 PM PT11:45 PM MT12:45 AM CT1:45 AM ET1:45 ET5:45 GMT13:45 10:45 PM MST12:45 AM EST11:45 PM CST1:15 AM VEN9:45 UAE11:45 PM CT-Merrill Kelly improved to 8-5, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the San Francisco Giants 4-3 on Monday. Kelly struck out four, ending the game with a 3.36 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 7 10:09 PM PT11:09 PM MT12:09 AM CT1:09 AM ET1:09 ET5:09 GMT13:09 10:09 PM MST12:09 AM EST11:09 PM CST12:39 AM VEN9:09 UAE11:09 PM CT-Merrill Kelly allowed two runs on two hits and three walks in 6.1 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Francisco Giants 7-5 on Wednesday. Kelly struck out six, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
July 1 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST9:00 PM CST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Merrill Kelly improved to 7-5, allowing two runs - one earned - on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Colorado Rockies 9-3 on Friday. Kelly struck out three, ending the game with a 3.46 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
June 25 9:32 PM PT10:32 PM MT11:32 PM CT12:32 AM ET0:32 ET4:32 GMT12:32 9:32 PM MST11:32 PM EST10:32 PM CST12:02 AM VEN8:32 UAE10:32 PM CT-Merrill Kelly fell to 6-5, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Detroit Tigers 5-1 on Friday. Kelly struck out five, ending the game with a 3.64 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
June 19 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST5:08 PM CST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-Merrill Kelly improved to 6-4, allowing one run on five hits in 7.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Minnesota Twins 7-1 on Sunday. Kelly struck out five, ending the game with a 3.46 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 14 10:06 PM PT11:06 PM MT12:06 AM CT1:06 AM ET1:06 ET5:06 GMT13:06 10:06 PM MST12:06 AM EST11:06 PM CST12:36 AM VEN9:06 UAE11:06 PM CT-Merrill Kelly fell to 5-4, allowing five runs on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-4 on Monday. Kelly struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.68 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 8 8:43 PM PT9:43 PM MT10:43 PM CT11:43 PM ET23:43 ET3:43 GMT11:43 8:43 PM MST10:43 PM EST9:43 PM CST11:13 PM VEN7:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Merrill Kelly improved to 5-3, allowing one hit and three walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-0 on Wednesday. Kelly struck out five, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
June 3 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-Merrill Kelly improved to 4-3, allowing three runs - two earned - on five hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-6 on Friday. Kelly struck out two, ending the game with a 3.66 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
May 28 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Merrill Kelly fell to 3-3, allowing three runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-2 on Saturday. Kelly struck out five, ending the game with a 3.67 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
May 22 2:13 PM PT3:13 PM MT4:13 PM CT5:13 PM ET17:13 ET21:13 GMT5:13 2:13 PM MST4:13 PM EST3:13 PM CST4:43 PM VEN1:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Merrill Kelly allowed three runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-4 on Sunday. Kelly struck out two, ending the game with a 3.49 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
May 22 2:13 PM PT3:13 PM MT4:13 PM CT5:13 PM ET17:13 ET21:13 GMT5:13 2:13 PM MST4:13 PM EST3:13 PM CST4:43 PM VEN1:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Merrill Kelly allowed three runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-4 on Sunday. Kelly struck out two, ending the game with a 3.49 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
May 18 10:00 PM PT11:00 PM MT12:00 AM CT1:00 AM ET1:00 ET5:00 GMT13:00 10:00 PM MST12:00 AM EST11:00 PM CST12:30 AM VEN9:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Merrill Kelly fell to 3-2, allowing eight runs on five hits and four walks in 2.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 12-3 on Tuesday. Kelly struck out two, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 11 3:44 PM PT4:44 PM MT5:44 PM CT6:44 PM ET18:44 ET22:44 GMT6:44 3:44 PM MST5:44 PM EST4:44 PM CST6:14 PM VEN2:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-Merrill Kelly allowed three runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Miami Marlins 11-3 on Wednesday. Kelly struck out four, ending the game with a 1.71 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
May 7 9:33 PM PT10:33 PM MT11:33 PM CT12:33 AM ET0:33 ET4:33 GMT12:33 9:33 PM MST11:33 PM EST10:33 PM CST12:03 AM VEN8:33 UAE10:33 PM CT-Merrill Kelly improved to 3-1, allowing one run on seven hits and two walks in 8.2 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Colorado Rockies 4-1 on Friday. Kelly struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.22 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 1:57 PM PT2:57 PM MT3:57 PM CT4:57 PM ET16:57 ET20:57 GMT4:57 1:57 PM MST3:57 PM EST2:57 PM CST4:27 PM VEN0:57 UAE (+1)2:57 PM CT-Merrill Kelly improved to 2-1, allowing two hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 2-0 on Saturday. Kelly struck out four, ending the game with a 1.27 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 9:18 PM PT10:18 PM MT11:18 PM CT12:18 AM ET0:18 ET4:18 GMT12:18 9:18 PM MST11:18 PM EST10:18 PM CST11:48 PM VEN8:18 UAE10:18 PM CT-Merrill Kelly fell to 1-1, allowing three runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-0 on Monday. Kelly struck out four, ending the game with a 1.69 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)8:23 PM CT-Merrill Kelly improved to 1-0, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Washington Nationals 11-2 on Wednesday. Kelly struck out five, ending the game with a 0.59 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 4:36 PM PT5:36 PM MT6:36 PM CT7:36 PM ET19:36 ET23:36 GMT7:36 4:36 PM MST6:36 PM EST5:36 PM CST7:06 PM VEN3:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Merrill Kelly allowed three hits and two walks without giving up a run in 5.1 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Houston Astros 3-2 on Wednesday. Kelly struck out six, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 9:30 PM PT10:30 PM MT11:30 PM CT12:30 AM ET0:30 ET4:30 GMT12:30 9:30 PM MST11:30 PM EST10:30 PM CST12:00 AM VEN8:30 UAE10:30 PM CT-Merrill Kelly allowed four hits and two walks without giving up a run in 4.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Diego Padres 3-0 on Friday. Kelly struck out seven, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2019 Ari 13 14 0 - 0 32 32 0 183.1 184 95 90 29 57 4 158 1.31 4.42
2020 Ari 3 2 0 - 0 5 5 0 31.1 26 9 9 5 5 1 29 0.99 2.59
2021 Ari 7 11 0 - 0 27 27 0 158.0 163 82 78 21 41 3 130 1.29 4.44
2022 Ari 13 8 0 - 0 32 32 0 194.1 163 76 74 21 59 2 170 1.14 3.43
Career 36 35 0 - 0 96 96 0 567.0 536 262 251 76 162 10 487 1.23 3.98

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2019 Ari 32 52 3 1 0 0 0 2 2 25 0 0 .019 .056 .019
2021 Ari 27 47 1 3 1 0 0 1 4 27 0 0 .064 .137 .085
Career 96 99 4 4 1 0 0 3 6 52 0 0 .040 .095 .051


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1411 96 89 92.6 47.24
Curveball 401 86 78 82.2 13.42
Slider 5 86 85 85.4 .17
Changeup 641 92 84 88.7 21.46
Cut Fastball 529 94 83 91 17.71

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.